Madame Wall Street

Lisa Simeone, the host of an NPR syndicated of a “World of Opera” show was fired for her participation in the Occupy Wall Street movement. Yahoo News reported that she was fired after being exposed as the spokeswoman for “October 2011” which is group apart of the movement.

There are a few perplexing parts to this story. First, Simeone was a freelancer for NPR, she wasn’t getting paid. Even if she was, is she not allowed to have a life outside of work? Secondly, and more importantly, she was not doing a news show, she discussed different operas. I highly doubt her experiences at the protest could cloud her opinions of Opera.

This is part of the statement that Simeone released in an email to the Baltimore Sun:

” I’m not an NPR employee. I’m a freelancer. NPR doesn’t pay me. I’m also not a news reporter. I don’t cover politics. I’ve never brought a whiff of my political activities into the work I’ve done for NPR World of Opera.  What is NPR afraid I’ll do — insert a seditious comment into a synopsis of Madame Butterfly?”

Leave a Reply

